Alpha Sigma Tau

  • Alpha Sigma Tau


    Alpha Sigma Tau was founded on November 4, 1899 at Michigan State Normal College in Ypsilanti, Michigan. The eight women that founded the organization include Helene M. Rice, May Gephart, Mayene Tracy, Mable Chase, Harriet Marx, Eva O'Keefe, Adriance Rice, and Ruth Dutcher. Since its founding in 1899, Alpha Sigma Tau has been committed to developing scholars, philanthropists, leaders and sisters.


  • EIU Chapter

    Today, the sisters of Alpha Sigma Tau still strive to create hard-working, active leaders and sisters.  The Beta Pi chapter has sisters in over 80 registered student organizations across campus!  Along with being active on campus, Alpha Sigma Tau stays dedicated to community evolvement and completes over 1,000 hours of community service a semester.  With all this involvement, Alpha Sigma Tau still stresses the importance of academics.  Each week, sisters are required to fulfill study hours with other sisters to ensure quality academics.

  • Alpha Sigma Tau Quick Facts!


    Symbol: the Anchor

    Flower: Yellow Rose

    Jewel: the Pearl

    Colors: Emerald Green and Gold


    For more information visit their website!